Saturday Morning tradition- gluten free, vegan panakes

11 May

Saturday is a special day of the week, it always has been for me. You could almost say it is sacred. When I was a little kid it meant going down to the living room in the early morning with my little brother. We would flip to the kids channel while the screen was still the coloured lines before programming starts. We would ‘carefully’ get cereal by ourselves then settle to watch the best cartoons all morning. 

Now that I’m grown I spend every Saturday morning snuggling in bed with my sweetie, waking up late to make a special breakfast and then reading and chatting all morning. (well early afternoon) 

This Saturday morning I woke with an especially hungry tummy and a dream about pancakes still in my head. So I went to work. 

Image

The pancakes I made are soooo good I just had to blog them! They are not your traditional fluffy doughy Canadian pancake, they are made with rice flour so the texture is a little chewy and they are a bit sweeter because of the flour too. I think that might be why I like them so much. 

I’m trying to get the most out of everything I eat now a days. Flavor, nutrients, texture! it all needs to be in there. The one thing I added that I’m questioning now is Baking Powder. I used it out of the mind set of how I would make normal wheat based pancakes… but It has things like “monocalcium Phosphate” and “Sodium Bicarbonate” in it… what are they? 

I read this other blog called “Girl Meets Nourishment” She only eats REAL food, and now I’m  getting all convinced by this way of life…

If you feel like trying these pancakes without baking powder, let me know how they turn out. I won’t likely get a chance to try again until next Saturday morning!

Image

Ingredients:

brown Rice Flour
Apple sauce
Flaxseed
water
vanilla extract
baking powder

Pancakes for two!
In a medium large bowl, mix together 1 cup of brown rice flour with 1 1/2 tablespoon of flax seed, and a 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. Next mix in 1 cup of water, 1/4 cup of apple sauce, and 1 table spoon of Vanilla extract. Mix it all up!

In a large frying pan (I use none stick) add about a table spoon of olive oil evenly to the pan and turn the heat onto high. When you can hover your hand over the pan and feel heat turn the heat to medium. 

Using the 1/4 cup, dish the batter into nice full circles. (Using this size scoop makes the pancakes easy to flip and if you are making for two people you should have about 8 pancakes.)

These pancakes won’t bubble up like normal pancakes, instead you will notice that they become a little more solid looking and the edges become a little golden brown. Carefully flip them and let them crisp up on the other side. Repeat until all of the batter is used. 

If you are making a bigger batch and want left overs. I would recommend using parchment paper between the pancakes, because rice flour can be very sticky. 

I loved this recipe so much! I can’t wait until next Saturday to have them again! 

Imagemmmm that good!

 

Leave a Reply

trails and tales

Notes about peacebuilding, global issues, outdoor adventures, and other parts of my Canadian life.

Babblings by Babs

Redefining the term “babble” to reflect my sincere thoughts, stories and ideas.

Through the Valley

Jill's Journey following a lung cancer diagnosis

