Musings

29 Apr

Hi friends,

I’ve been at my family home this weekend enjoying a short vacation I’m so overwhelmed with gratefulness, I wanted to share with my blog love. After all, we are all on a journey, so I’m sharing a smidgen with you today.

Being at my family home, surrounded by the people I love, has given me reason to reflect and be grateful. I know that not everyone has a life as fortunate as mine, and I know there are others with much more then me. But I’m grateful.

My parents home is super relaxing. As I sit in the living room, my sisters are at School, my parents at work and hubby still in bed, all I can hear is the wind outside and the clock ticking. It’s so peaceful. My mind has space to be calm. One reason to be grateful.

Image

On Sunday, nearly my whole family on my moms side came for a spring celebration. There were over 20 people in the house, I love everyone of them. My teen and young adult cousins all gathered together, reminds me that we all have an unspoken knowledge of the craziness of our family. My mom has three sisters, who all have kids (now) we have kind of grown up together although we live in different places. We’re all really different, yet really the same. My mom’s three sisters are women that I really look up to and admire for their beauty and creativity. My Grandparents are such an honorable yet personable couple and I love every chance I get to spend with them. Another reason to be grateful.

Image

I haven’t seen my Brother and his family since Christmas!!! It’s so hard to be away from this guy that is such an important part of my life. It was nice that our schedules and ability to gather in the same place finally lined up. But in reality I think there is a need to prioritize this part of my family more. I just need to learn how. After everyone left, my mom and I snuggled on the couch looking through an old old old photo album she was given and then another old one and then one of us when we were young. Every picture, that featured us both, has us holding hands, or arms looped over one another. We were best buds. I love my Brother. I’m so grateful we grew up together.

Image

This weekend I’m especially grateful for my parents. From the time I arrived I was overwhelmed with my mothers love. I can’t believe how blessed I am by her. She goes out of her way to make and buy food that suits my dietary needs like no one else. She washes my bedding and towels in hypoallergenic detergent, and just generally goes out of her way to take care of me. She’s always done this, I think I’m just getting mature enough to appreciate it. When I told her this, her response was that she admires me for my self discipline and wants to support me. Her humility is an inspiration to me. I can’t express in words how much her admiration meant to me. My mothers love and approval is so moving to my spirit. :*) To put icing on the cake I shared some really big news (more on that later) that I was so nervous to share with both mom and dad. I was sure they would be concerned, but if they were, they didn’t show it. They calmly listened to me and my husband as we shared our story and responded with support and understanding. I am so humbled. I am so grateful.

I can move forward in my life without fear for so many reasons. One very important reason is my amazing family.

Leave a Reply

trailblazing

Notes about peacebuilding, global issues, outdoor adventures, and other parts of my Canadian life.

Babblings by Babs

Redefining the term “babble” to reflect my sincere thoughts, stories and ideas.

Through the Valley

Jill's Journey following a lung cancer diagnosis

