Tis’ the season! Top 10 reasons I love Christmas!

22 Nov

 

I LOVE Christmas! It’s my favorite holiday for so many reasons! I know it’s not even December yet, but I’ve been waiting for Christmas since September- when I started working on Christmas gifts. So please humor me while I tell you why I love Christmas so much. 😉

10. November and December can be so dreary, the sun sets so early and the fall colours have all fallen away. It can feel rather depressing. Christmas lights and decorations help brighten and liven things up a little. (A turkey and some mistletoe help to make the season bright.)

9.I love how every home does essentially the same thing (tree, garlands, lights, nativity, gifts) yet in really unique ways. It’s a great season of personal expression, right down to traditions and gift giving tendencies. I was passed down a huge box of the decorations from my families home, so Christmas in my little urban apartment isn’t looking really all that different from what it was like when I was growing up in the old country home. This year I’m trying something new- Hand made Christmas! I’ve been crocheting like a mad woman!

8. I love all of the parties! It can make the season busy for some, but for me it just adds to the excitement and experience! I love going to friends homes to taste their treats and see their Christmas tree and hear about their favorite traditions. I ask the same question about family traditions at every gathering this time of year. Sorry people, I just am really curious and genuinely interested!

20131226_1242247.Christmas movies…another shout out to my bro: all the “claymation” (Frosty, Roudolf, Santa Claus…) ELF! I love more serious films like Nativity and classics like White Christmas too. Charlie Brown! :*)

6. I like decorating my apartment! It’s like a challenge every year to find the best place for the tree, and set it up in a way that my hubby can tolerate best tee hee! Good news! He told me he would joyfully participate in decorating it with me if I wait until  December! Happy marriage= some compromise 🙂

5. Christmas Music! I love the old fashioned Christmas music and Carols and I like the new upbeat stuff. It’s all good! It inspires a nostalgic and happy feeling.

4. I love the goodies! It’s become an adventure finding goodies I can eat without issues over the past few years, but goodness there are some wonderful options out there. This is the season to learn them all! Stay tuned to hear about my trial with a Gluten Free Vegan Ginger bread house coming soon! If anyone knows a good alternative to Eggnog, you’d be my new best friend 😉

3. Family! If you follow my blog, you know how much I adore my family and extended relatives. I love how at Christmas I get to see them all a little extra. Everyone makes amazing goodies and everyone contributes to the meal. This is awesome because in the kitchen, my relatives all ROCK! We also just have lots of fun memories being together. I love waking up Christmas Morning with my mom and dad and siblings. I remember lots of times fooling with my moms youngest sister and making everyone else laugh. I remember cuddling on the couch with my grandpa, and dad trying to drag an auntie under the mistletoe. I remember reading Christmas stories and praying together.

20131225_180248

2. I love that with Christmas, I don’t have to try to enjoy or be excited about it. The anticipation of it simply brings me joy. I don’t care about making everything perfect and impressing others, I just enjoy the experience and take the great opportunity to share the love that’s overflowing. There is no forcing kindness this time of year, it all comes from a joyful heart.

1. The reason for the season. I’m joyful at Christmas time, not just because of the decorations and memories the food and family/ friends. There is a reason I have joy in my heart and a deep sense of anticipation. I’m waiting for something that is much bigger then myself. For that I am overflowing with gratefulness and joy.

May you experience great joy this Christmas season and all year!

2 Responses to “Tis’ the season! Top 10 reasons I love Christmas!”

  1. jrlesage November 23, 2014 at 2:36 am #

    I don’t know if it’s any good, but Loblaws has almond Noel nog in the natural food section. It’s worth a try…

    • mrsginabyun November 24, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

      Thanks! I will check it out! I don’t know how I missed that…such an obvious place to look lol

Leave a Reply

life tales & rabbit trails

A blog about peacebuilding, international development, outdoor recreation, and other parts of my life.

Babblings by Babs

Redefining the term “babble” to reflect my sincere thoughts, stories and ideas.

Through the Valley

Jill's Journey following a lung cancer diagnosis

