Happy Memories tribute to Uncle Dave

6 Oct

A week ago my Dad’s older brother, my uncle Dave, had a brain aneurysm. It’s terminal. It’s been a stressful week. There are so many anxious, sad, mad, confused and cynical thoughts going through my mind this week. As I talk with relatives I find out I’m not alone. We are going through a hard time.

On Friday he will be taken off of life support and will be allowed to pass away at his own pace. It was his wish that his organs be donated. So like his best organs will go on to preserve life, I too wish to preserve/ celebrate life with my best memories of my uncle.

When I was a kid, I was a super picky eater. My parents believed in encouraging their kids to always try things we don’t like to the point that I always had to pick the mushrooms and onions off of my pizza. (I now love both and believe in the same principle, btw.)

My uncle Dave made amazing pizza. I would venture to say it was probably the best in the history of ever. Whenever we would go to his house for dinner. He would make each person their own pizza. This was always to my absolute delight as he would let me pick whatever I wanted to put on MY personal pizza. After I had told him that I wanted green olives, pineapple, and pepperoni, he would meticulously decorate that pizza with evenly and thickly loaded care. Of course he topped it all off with tons of cheese and baked it on a glass pizza pan. It was soooooo good! I forgot to mention that it was always a home made crust. Thick and fluffy…. I will miss the pizza and I will miss uncle Dave but more then that I’ll remember that he lovingly made it for me.

I know it’s a silly memory, but I was a kid. Kids remember the people that do special things just for them. That’s how I want to remember this special man. I also remember how whenever we visited he would speak well about me. I felt confident and respected.

After I finished high school and moved away I saw him a lot less. I never got to know him as an adult. I wonder what I would be writing today had I known him on a deeper level. I think my last special memory of Uncle Dave was at my wedding. When I looked down into the crowd of my loved ones. I saw my big, strong, bald uncle with glistening eyes. It warmed my heart.

wedding-masson-side

Mom, Dad, Uncle Dave, late Aunt Karen, Sprout, Aunt Lynn and us at our wedding reception. 

If you knew him well, would you share a good memory or trait about Dave? Something that you loved? Comment below or send me a message.

 

2 Responses to “Happy Memories tribute to Uncle Dave”

  1. Lynn Roy October 6, 2016 at 2:51 am #

    He’s been my best friend and go to for the past 3 1/2 years. I’m going to miss hearing about the TV judges…all of them! Anger Management, Big Bang Theory and Two Broke Girls were his faves. Our weekly trips to the grocery store, simple to some but an opportunity to talk always for us and usually about his kids or mine. I guess the best memory from childhood is going frogging with him at Little Cataraqui Conservation Area…back then I didn’t know what we were doing and that he was gonna eat the gross little creatures…I just enjoyed walking and catching them and him pointing out animals and birds to me. This past New Years we sat in his livingroom and roasted marshmallows with a lighter and skewers lol I don’t know what I’m going to do without him but I’ll figure it out because he always told me that I would figure things out…now I have to. Strong, straightforward and truthful…Loving, caring and would give the shirt off his back to help anyone. I Love You big brother…your little big sister, Lynn

    • mrsginabyun October 6, 2016 at 3:40 pm #

      Thanks for sharing Lynn! It really is the little things that are big things.

Leave a Reply

trails and tales

Notes about peacebuilding, global issues, outdoor adventures, and other parts of my Canadian life.

Babblings by Babs

Redefining the term “babble” to reflect my sincere thoughts, stories and ideas.

Through the Valley

Jill's Journey following a lung cancer diagnosis

