How Greg and Christie loved us. 

28 Aug

Today was my pastors last day at our church. So of course there is much to reflect on.

When we first started attending Mosaic we were in the midst of two very significant life changes. We were changing churches after many years of being established in a church community where we felt belonging and had many great friendships but for various reasons couldn’t remain there. Also, we didn’t know but we were just a few months away from conceiving our long awaited son. Dealing with these big emotional and spiritual crisis’ wasn’t easy on our own but we soon found a little piece of community in Mosaic.
Every Sunday both Greg and Christie would make sure to stop to greet us which was welcoming and kind. There was a spark when I spoke with them that told me these were no ordinary people. Theses were people who love God and love people. Greg invited me to go for coffee and Christy invited me to join chosen Chicks. They in a sense invited me into their lives which was truly what I needed. God knew that I needed to have a team in this new church and he had already given me a core.
2015-06-30 21.07.22

After years of trying to have a child it was soon after joining Mosaic that we did conceive and we were able to celebrate with our new church friends. I’ve never felt so cared for by people who hardly knew me. The culture in this place has been so love-filled. I feel so blessed to have shared this exceptional phase of my life with this church and with Greg and Christie.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I love my memory of the time I shared my good news with Rachel at the beginning of a worship gathering and she squeaked with excitement, I’ll never forget how Greg walked by and jokingly said, “ Are you having a baby or something?”  And I replied,

“Yes, I am!”

“Oh my gosh! I was just joking! Congratulations!” He exclaimed with his bashful Polish accent.

During that phase they invited us to their home for a BBQ with a few other people from Mosaic and it was the first time I made some new friends with other families in the church. Christie and I spent a lovely brunch together one very snowy winter Saturday where God met with us and my heart was truly refreshed. We also fellowshipped through a mom’s Chosen chicks group. What a bridge building experience for me! I met other Christ centered mama’s and we prayed for each other and encouraged each other.

 

As my pastor and pastor’s wife, this couple has helped me to become a part of a new community of believers. I’m comfortable that, here, I am free to grow in Christ and follow his will. I am not afraid of the future without them because I am confident that they too will follow Christ’s will, and continue to grow in him. I’m confident that their impact on Mosaic and OKCC is a withstanding one because it was all centered on Gospel truth pulled straight from God’s word. This is the end of a role, not the end of a legacy. I’m so thankful that I had the opportunity to worship and serve and fellowship along side this beautiful family for the last years of their ministry here.

IMG_0611.JPG

As my friends this couple have shared their lives with me and my family. They love on my son like another little brother, and I hope that never changes. Even if we don’t see each other on Sundays, there are still coffee shops and BBQ’s in the places they have always been.

I look forward to seeing what God is going to do in this community and in the lives of the Kopczyk family as things change. Because of my own experience, I’m excited to see where God will lead them. May we continue to be united in spirit and in prayer.
“As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received.’  Eph. 4:1

Leave a Reply

trailblazing

Notes about peacebuilding, global issues, outdoor adventures, and other parts of my Canadian life.

Babblings by Babs

Redefining the term “babble” to reflect my sincere thoughts, stories and ideas.

Through the Valley

Jill's Journey following a lung cancer diagnosis

